What is mayo made of?
Mayo is a blended emulsion of:
egg yolks or whole eggs
an acid (typically vinegar or lemon juice)
Blended, these three simple ingredients alone create a basic mayo.
Additional spices and flavoring may be added. Some of those commonly used include sea salt, sugar, Dijon mustard, white pepper, celery seed, and mustard seed.
The type of oil used to make mayo can also vary. Many manufacturers use a neutral-flavored oil, such as canola, avocado, grape seed, or safflower. A stronger-flavored olive oil could overwhelm the flavor of the mayo.
Mayo is a blended emulsion of egg yolks, oil, and an acid, such as lemon juice or vinegar.
Is mayo safe for people who eat gluten-free?
Gluten is a group of proteins found in wheat and other grains like barley and rye.
Some types of wheat are used to process food products like bread, cereal, pasta, and baked goods, as well as even soups, sauces, and salad dressings (1).
People with celiac disease need to follow a strict gluten-free diet, which involves avoiding wheat, barley, rye, and other foods containing gluten. Eating gluten can cause symptoms like diarrhea, bloating, constipation, stomach pains, weight loss, and loss of appetite (2Trusted Source).
Those with gluten sensitivity, which is different than celiac disease, can find relief by avoiding gluten as well.
None of the traditional ingredients used in mayo — eggs, oil, nor acids — contain gluten. Therefore, a true mayo should, in most cases, be safe for people who follow a gluten-free diet.
However, it’s possible that some of the additional ingredients could contain gluten, or that the oil and vinegar used in the recipe were derived from gluten-containing products.
There’s also a risk of cross-contamination with gluten during the production of mayo and its contents (3Trusted Source, 4Trusted Source).
Still, there are some best practices for ensuring a mayo is gluten-free.
The ingredients traditionally used to make mayo are naturally gluten-free, but it’s still best to use caution since cross-contamination or added ingredients could result in the presence of gluten in mayo. ufabet